RSS Feed

This is Halloween… This is Halloween…..

Halloween is probably our (Me, Chloë & Marley) favorite holiday!

This year, the girls and I (+Killian) planned to attend the Richmond Zombie Walk as we did last year.

Mo loves braaaaaaains.

The girls had decided to be ‘Zombie Girl Scouts’ and we even went to our local scout store to get them the uniforms (Chloë was a scout until recently and had some gift certificates to the store to use up).  I bought Halloween patches and blank patches (to make our own).

(L-R clockwise: Brain Eating, Lurking, Umbrella Corporation, Limb Reattachment)

I hadn’t decided on the basis for my costume yet, but had decided that Killian would be ‘baby food’ (by riding in a cooler or collapsible shopping cart with a sign and discarded baby dolls). He was such a hit last year just sitting in the stroller eating fake blood off of his hands, lol!

"Nom." (Photo Courtesy of Robbie at Greyhaven Studios)

Unfortunately, we didn’t get past the costume construction this year– the forecast took a sudden turn towards cold, rainy weather and we opted to skip the walk. The kids weren’t too bummed since they were able to walk outside and know that they did NOT want to spend a few hours outside in 44* rainy nastiness.

We did, however, wake up Saturday morning and enjoy Znombie pancakes which are cousins to the 6 Znombie Bites  (a RockStar Confections creation) I shipped to Kelli in June!

Znombie Pancakes

After breakfast the kids played and I took care of a few things before heading out to our local Chinese & Sushi buffet. We stuffed ourselves silly and then went next door to dollar tree. I let the girls pick out candy buckets and then we headed across the street where there is a church pumpkin patch. They didn’t have many pumpkins left, but we’re kind of  ‘Charlie Brown Christmas’ like that!

Pickin' out Punkins!

I had fun driving Chloë nuts by trying to pick the ‘perfect’ pumpkin and having her check its price. (This is done by taking the pumpkin up to the tent and placing it in wooden cutouts. The bottom of the pumpkin must touch the table under the cut out– about 2 inches down– and you try to fit it in the smallest circle that allows that. Beside each cut out is a price– which ever one fits your pumpkin is what you pay.) She was laughing as I talked about needing a body/head/boob(s)/and a baby head to make a “Boo’ing” pumpkin. (Marley & Killian both called breastmilk/nursing “boo”.) She was horrified and supportive all at the same time! $22 and 5 pumpkins later we all left cold but happy.

Carving the pumpkins was fun– Marley LOVES the ‘guts’ and once we scooped out all the pumpkins, she wanted to take the pot I used for the ‘guts’  into the bathtub with her and play in them, lol! (I had to say no to that, though.. since Daddy would be the one clearing any clogs!) After I finished carving Marley’s pumpkin and Chloë had finished her own, she took Mo upstairs to get a bath while I worked on my pumpkin. After everything was carved, lit, and photographed, I dumped the ‘gut pot’ onto the plastic we had laid down under our sheet. I then gathered up all the sides, twisted it, and let Marley put her feet/hands/face onto the plastic and felt the guts squishing inside!

Ewww..... guts.

This is a HORRIFIC pic of me, but we were totally clowning it up and having a blast! And... pics of me + the kids are rare-- especially me & Marley lately.

Gutting my pumpkin!

Have I mentioned that there were guts? 😉

The aftermath of PumpkinParty 2011.

This evening it was cold and rainy, so not really trick or treat weather, but I hadn’t endured numerous costume idea changes + meldowns+ planning ways to avoid more meltdowns for nothing. Since we (well, Chloë & Mo) ditched the zombie scout idea until next year, Killian’s ‘zombie hunter’ costume wasn’t going to work. I quickly grabbed a pinstripe shirt with ‘Rockstar’ emblazoned on the front and Ben grabbed one of our PaperJams guitars for him to tote— instant Lead Guitarist! The girls’ makeup took probably an hour. I bought some cream makeup so that  I could make Marley’s face black like the Francois Langur/Black Leaf Monkey (which she decided to be today)— she came up to me and asked if I remembered the black monkey in the zoo that had a mohawk. I didn’t remember any such thing, but googled ‘Mohawk Monkey and found the link above. She told me that it was the correct animal and that she wanted a mohawk. Chloë was beyond thrilled when I allowed her to use an old costume I had from a few years ago to be a vampress. Despite the weather and the fact that we only drenched ourselves for 3 houses worth of candy, I’d say it was a pretty great Halloween. Marley tolerated her mask and make up so well and for the first year ever, she actually said “trick or treat”!

Marley the black leaf monkey

Killian rocks!

So pretty it's scary.

 

One response »

  1. I’m glad they had a good time even if it rained 🙂 And I still say you should have sent me the pumpkin guts but oh well – since Mo put them to good use I’ll stop crying ahhaha.

    I love Mo’s creativity on her costume.. so random!?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

