RSS Feed

29… for the first time.

It’s 4:36am and I’m blogging….

Why would anyone blog at 4:36am? Why would a mommy blog at 4:36am?

Because yesterday this mommy turned 29… for the first time. (Next year I plan to turn “29 again”, and I personally think it’s a travesty that I didn’t ‘stop’ at 25… except for the fact that it would mean no Killian… so, maybe I could have ‘stopped’ at 27.. that would have been ok, too!)

What does my birthday have to do with blogging (at 4am)?

Well… I’m ashamed to say that after a delicious dinner with Ben (and my yummy splurge on 3 desserts), I came home and went into a sugar coma  fell asleep.

I was completely out before 10pm…. in fact… it was probably closer to 9pm.

That wouldn’t matter on a normal night. Last night, however, I was supposed to make an announcement.

I begged and ‘shared’ all day yesterday to draw people to the blog and facebook page. For my birthday, I wanted to top my ‘busiest day’ here on the blog. It would be a bonus to break 50 fans on the facebook page, but that was secondary. So I linked and shared and asked you all to do the same to see if we could top the 47 visitors that I had on opening day here.

And… as usual… y’all totally rocked it.

My friends and family are so amazing!

You all took Marley’s story and shared it, asking those on your lists to please come read the blog.

During the afternoon I watched as the stat counter climbed.

25…..37….41….46….48!….51….68….

Seeing that we not only beat the previous 47 visitors, but that we had almost passed it by 50%, I put out a challenge–

“Can you drag 26 more people towww.marleystop.WordPress.com before 11:59pm?
Can you get one more ‘Like’ on the Facebook page?”

The fan page was sitting at 49 and had been all day… and if we added 26 to the current number, we would hit 94 and double the previous record of 47!

I checked and rechecked the stats… and then I fell asleep.

When I woke up at 3:30, I had to see the numbers.

Bleary eyed, I turned on the laptop….

“93 views on your busiest day, February 10, 2012”

Y’all are amazing.
(and maybe if I wasn’t asleep on the job, I could have dragged one more person over, lol!)

In fact, since my last post went live, we’ve had 144 visitors!
A quick look at the fan page– “51 like this”.

🙂

So… thank you… from the bottom of my heart! You made my day wonderful, you got the word out, and 51 of you are holding me accountable, which hopefully means more blogging/ more often!

And… for the announcement…

Like I said on the fan page, it’s probably a much bigger deal for me than it is for you guys– however, it will make it easier for you to visit and refer friends to the blog.

My birthday present to myself was officially registering www.marleystop.com as my own, which means no more ‘wordpress’ in the URL!

Easier to remember, less to type, and much more ‘spread the word’ friendly!

Again– thank you all SO much for the love and support that you’ve given me! The birthday wishes on my facebook wall, the phone calls, messages, and offers of love/prayer/help/thoughts… it keeps me sane (well, as sane as I can be), and I love you for that!

(And now.. back to sleep!)
(speaking of which– check out who voluntarily took a nap today! The child who doesn’t sleep alone…. put herself down for a nap in her new bed…. in her room… that she no longer shares….)

5 responses »

  1. Glad you had a Happy Birthday! Congrats on all the new traffic!

    Reply
    • Thanks!
      I know that seeing just under 100 people in a day seems like a silly thing to get excited about to some.. but I’m just one mom.. writing about my kid… the fact that 3 people (much less 93 people) care to read about that makes me feel great. 🙂

      Reply
  2. That’s great Carmen! Glad you had a great and sugar filled birthday:)

    Reply
  3. Awesome Carmen! I saw this last night but didn’t have a chance to congratulate you ❤
    Very cool getting a .com!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

